Downtime. Spend time.

So what does one do when they’re sick and can’t return to work? Why they buy books online of course! At least that is what I did and since apocalyptic themed story lines were the flavour the month for me I chose to read The Last Trilogy by Michael Adams. I devoured them all within a week.

The end of the world happened quickly. The sun still shone, there was no explosion – just a tsunami-sized wave of human thought drowning the world in telepathic noise as everyone’s inner-most secrets became audible. Everyone’s thoughts, that is, except sixteen year old Danby ~ The Last Girl

Books weren’t my only weakness. I also splurged on some new jewellery. Normally I’m not a necklace person nor do I wear gold pieces because I’m a silver girl through and through but when I saw this beauty online I wanted it so bad I didn’t hesitate in buying it along with two more necklaces.  No buyers remorse here!

“Ok. What have you bought now?” Mr X asked when I requested he drop into the PO box to see if any packages had arrived.

“Just some necklaces from the UK. One of them has this Japanese fan charm. It’s quite cool.”

Mr X rolled his eyes at me but there was a hint of a smile on his lips. It’s pretty much the same reaction I get whenever I buy something out of the ordinary.

“Necklaces?! But you don’t wear any! Besides what about the necklace that mum bought? You still haven’t worn that one yet.”

“Well it’s not the kind of piece you wear with graphic tees and cargo pants. It’s too fancy. These are for everyday wear.”

I could tell he wasn’t buying it but he let the subject slide. When I had my mind set on something I pretty much just go with it and Mr X knows this. It was precisely why he didn’t questioned me when I mentioned spending the whole day playing FFXIII after he asked how I’d spent my time the following day.

“Well I’m glad your resting. You really need it. “

“I’m not sure you can call this resting. You do realize how much energy goes into building your character and completing these bloody quests, don’t you?! It’s fucking exhausting. I’m not even sure I’m cooking dinner yet. In fact you can pretty much guarantee I won’t be – how does take out sound?”

It was a good thing when I did finally get better.

Leave a Reply

