Life goes on

After four days and numerous showers we eventually ran out of hot water. You would think this wouldn’t be a problem with temperatures reaching high 30’s (Degree Celsius) and the humidity at 50+% but try washing your long hair under freezing cold water for a few nights and see how enjoyable cold water really is. 

At least we had clean, running water again after a day and a half without it. I wasn’t completely worried because we still had access to water via our rainwater tank but it was just the chore of carting it for washing and bathing that became tiresome. You don’t realize how much of a convenience plumbing and pumps are until you don’t have them for awhile.

Another appliance I began to appreciate was our washing machine. After hand washing clothing for over an hour I was bored out of my head and I hadn’t even started on Mr X’s work clothes. How the hell was I going to get those clean of the quarry dust caked on them?!?

“So I spoke to my boss and I’m taking Tuesday off so we can pick up the generator and I can set it up for us.”

Oh yeah, delicious power! How I miss thee!

However things did not go according to plan. There were two trucks filled with generators and our truck was late. First it was meant to get in at midday, then the time changed to 6pm but when it still hadn’t shown up around 8pm they called the driver to find out he was lost and running low on fuel. By this hour I was utterly exhausted. We had been in the city since 4 waiting for this delivery and I was stressed. Stressed and tired me, not a good combination.

“There’s no way that truck will get here tonight. I think we should cut our losses and get one of the smaller units from the truck that’s here.”

Mr X agreed so we asked to do a swap and have the difference refunded back into our account. Generator in tow we headed home.

The next day Mr X woke me before day break and showed me how to operate and refill the generator. I nodded my head as he showed me the ropes but silently I was wishing he didn’t have to go to work. I was already feeling disconnected because of all the changes and the last thing I wanted was to be alone with my thoughts.

“I don’t know how people sit at home and do nothing all day. I’m already bored of it.”

“So do something? Lots of housework to be done.”

“Oh yay! Housework!” I answered, sarcasm dripping from my words.

Actually I don’t mind cleaning but I was looking for something a bit more challenging, like my job for instance but they too were without power.  A meeting was on the following day though to tell us what was happening.

“What am I going to do if the place is closed for months?! Do you think I’ll be asked to come into work?”

Mr X and I were sitting down to dinner when I bought the subject up. When id learnt that many of the buildings at work had sustained significant damage, I started to feel anxious.

“I’m pretty sure you’ll get asked to come in. The Engineer knows how versatile you are.”

The next day I woke feeling a little bit blah. I didn’t have much of an appetite so I skipped breakfast and headed to the meeting. Basically what was said there confirmed my worries about the place being shut for awhile.  After the main talk wrapped up The Engineer pulled the maintenance crew aside and once he established that we’d all survived the cyclone okay, he got down to the nitty gritty.

“The site is a mess. We have to get Civil Engineers in to assess the damage and a project management team has been assigned to the job. Until the assessments are done however we won’t know when we can reopen it.”

After a brief pause he went on.

“The site needs to be cleaned and I’ve asked that my own maintenance team be selected to carry this out. I guess what I want to know is whether anyone has a problem with this?”

I definitely knew I didn’t. Of course it was far from what my job was but doing something constructive was exactly what I needed.

“Well ok then. We are trying to organise training for either Saturday or Monday. HR will give you a call to let you know.”

Leave a Reply

