Submission

Writing a cover letter for a job is similar to writing a blog entry. You need to capture your readers attention within the first sentence and then you have to tell an interesting story with the rest of your paragraphs.

Well I’m no professional writer but I have picked up a thing or two over the years. Engineering professionals for instance like you to get straight to the point when selling yourself. They don’t want flowery prose or to be bullshitted with half truths. They want to know what you are worth and they want you to just tell them already and not to dance around the subject.

Even though I knew all this I just wasn’t feeling it when writing my resume the other day. I was also pushing myself to get it done before the weekend so I could chill out but the more I put myself under the thumbscrews, the more agitated I became until Mr X spoke up.

“Don’t worry about it. Just do it later.”

Actually part of the reason I was rushing my application was because he had told his boss that I was going to apply and since then his boss kept asking if I had or not. I felt like I should of been more prepared and I didn’t want to give the impression that I wasn’t.

So I put the resume and letter out of my head and embraced Valentine’s day. The day was pretty good for me too, Mr X spoiled me with a lovely bouquet of roses and orchids and a bottle of my signature scent. I spoiled him with DVDs, popcorn and an adorable picture of us, relaxing by the pool.

The next day, Sunday we hit the track to do some more test and tune on the karts. The karts are running fairly well but they still need a bit of tweaking. I don’t think I was really in the mood but I was in need of a distraction after almost finishing my job application that morning. Like the karts my letter needed some touch ups but I was quite empty of inspiration.

So I threw myself and my kart hard around the track but I did notice it was very touchy on the corners. I thought my tyres weren’t hot enough yet and so I kept pushing it harder when I felt I lost my brakes just before a turn and all of a sudden my kart had spun around on me.

“I’m not sure WTF happened but it wasn’t stopping!” I exclaimed when Mr X pulled up next to me. Then I burst out laughing.

“Well the brakes are ok so you must of locked them up at the corner. Did your heart drop into your chest?”

“Umm maybe.”

Mr X chuckled under his breath.

The distraction sure did the trick too because as soon as we arrived home I threw myself back into “finishing” the job application and upon completion I submitted it.

“Well that’s it my love. Now I just hope it lands me an interview.”

“Oh it will. I don’t doubt it.”

“Oh ok now my heart just dropped into my chest.”

And I’ve never felt so nervous and excited at the same time.

Leave a Reply

