The Look

Before the weekend had even started I packed up the Christmas tree. Normally I’d just leave it a little longer, admiring the prettiness of the tinsel and lights but I’ve grown tired of the ugly gyprock walls in the lounge room and if I want to get them plastered and painted then I needed to free up floorspace. It was around 7 o’clock on Friday night when I began removing the glass baubles from the Christmas tree branches and when Mr X noticed he shook his head at me.

“Are you seriously going to do that now? Pull the tree down?”

“Well I’m working on the weekend so I have to.”

“I knew you were up to something. You had that look in your eye….”

“What look?”

“The one you get when you decide to clean or tidy.”

I simply hmmf’ed in reply and continued the removal of the decorations. After a few more moments Mr X sighed aloud and stood up.

“Do you need a hand?”

I honestly cannot help myself sometimes. When I get an itch to work on the house I just can’t help but scratch it and the same goes for when an idea pops into my head – I just want to do it. Right now I’m considering to have my study nook area second as a dining area as well. I think it used to be the verandah before it was enclosed and there’s a lovely sash type window in the wall between it and the lounge room that more than backs up this theory. Since it catches the first rays of the sun in Summer its the coolest place to eat in the evening and I’m trying to avoid air conditioning the whole entire house.

Later on after the tree had been demolished and decorations put away I stood in the ex “verandah” area and mulled my thoughts aloud to Mr X about how incredibly cool it would be to have an industrial type desk/dining table out here, one made from an old door with either pipe or steel angle as legs. I’d also thought about affixing clear perspex to the top so we would have a nice even surface. Maybe even wheels for mobility.

“I was wrong.”

“Pardon?”

“That look earlier, I was wrong about what it meant.”

“How so..” I asked cautiously

“You weren’t giving the ‘clean & tidy’ look but the ‘I need you to build me something’ one.”

I smirked at him in reply.

Leave a Reply

