Missing

This Saturday marks the second weekend that Mr X and I will spend apart. Last weekend it was because he needed to collect some furniture and tools from his parents place, a 5hr drive away so he stayed there 2 nights for visits, and this weekend it’s because he’s carrying out vertical rescue training at the beach. I’m just thankful that it’s only day trips and not an overnight stay because Mr X and I just don’t do nights apart very well. It feels completely wrong to both of us and when it occurs I’m forever falling asleep in front of the TV just because I don’t wish to go to bed without him there.

Upon him returning last Monday afternoon, after 3 days and 2 nights apart, Mr X made a beeline for me once he parked the car and enveloped me into his arms.

“Never again my love. Next time you are coming with me!”

I remembered my heart fluttering in my chest as I hugged him back.

“No,  never again. It’s not the same here without you here…”

We are seriously that soppy IRL but we keep our corny banter on the down low most of the time so we aren’t pointed out as “that couple”. You know the people I’m referring to, the ones who call each other love nicks whilst blowing one another kisses. Yeah, not us.

Everyday I count my blessings in being in this relationship though because for one, I’ve never been this compatible with any other guy and two, I’ve never been with someone so tolerant of me. I wouldn’t classify myself as a high maintenance girlfriend but I do have a temper and sometimes my mouth does get the better of me. Mr X however has grown accustomed to these little outbursts of mine and understands that sometimes I need to vent or just win an argument. I guess that is what you do when you love someone. You take the good along with the bad and they do the same.

Mr X has two more lots of weekend vertical rescue training to do over the next month and I guess that is how I’ll view them, the bad that you take along with the good. Still, it sucks!

Leave a Reply

