Fifty shades of whatever

The announcer couldn’t stop raving over the radio waves – practically drooling over the mic – about the teaser clip for 50 shades that was released last week. I listened with gritted teeth and much eye rolling as I drove to work and almost cheered aloud when she had finished.

I know there are a lot of women looking forward to this movie but I am definitely not one of them. I tried my best to read the 3 books but after the first 2 books, I kept fantasising about punching Christian Grey in the mouth, so I stopped.

Maybe it’s just me but I’m really not into these books, that sort of scene and Mr Grey is much too smothering to even like as a character. I like my fantasy crushes to be a little less (read a lot less) stalkerish, to respect the opposite sex enough not to see them as a thing to be used and abused and to be protective without being controlling.

But I seriously do wonder out of all the millions of people raving about this sort of relationship how many would actually want to genuinely trade places with the characters? Sure the money might be nice but trading in your self respect to get it – probably not worth it.

Besides you would have to really love someone to deal with the kind of past Mr Grey has as well as tolerate all the smothering Ana endures – just saying.

I think there’s more than enough people disrespecting others in the real world that encouraging it further through these types of books is just sad. I think I’ll stick to my soppy romance novels and leave 50 shades in the trash can, where it belongs.

2 thoughts on “Fifty shades of whatever

  1. I only made it a third of the way into the first book. It worries me what its popularity says about women in our society. Is it materialism gone mad, or do most women want to be dominated?
    Thanks for your viewpoint. It’s good to know there are still women out there who have a good sense of their self worth.

    1. Yeah im not really sure if the contents of the book is popular to women because some of them want to be dominated OR because they don’t want to be thought of as a prude so they pretend to be into it. Thanks for your own viewpoint too because it sure as heck hard to find people voicing it publicly :)

Leave a Reply

