Red Herring

So I finally started writing up my final “project” scope statement and work breakdown structure last week and I’m pretty much finished except…

“Costing. I’m still in a quandary over them. ”

Mr X was peeling potatoes in the kitchen and after pacing from one end of the room to the other I finally came to a stop beside him. Even though I had practically finished this last project I was still unsure if I had in fact interpreted the brief correctly and because I was worried I was thinking some of these thoughts aloud in hopes the answers would suddenly appear in front of my eyes.

“Didn’t they mention something in the brief about $200,000?”

“Yes but I wonder if it matters how I divvy it up. I’m thinking not but – what do you think?”

Just as I am Mr X’s sounding board when he is contemplating something inside his head he in turn returns the favour by being mine. Most of the time I answer my own questions and make up my own mind regardless of his thoughts on the matter but I love how he listens to me when I talk aloud. It pleases me to no end.

“I think your doing really well so far.”

In other words Mr X was thinking I should just go with whatever my gut was telling me and not to stress over this one factor of the project but to instead focus on the details in the brief. It was a valid point since I had a tendency to waste time on worrying about details that weren’t important.

“I know, I know. I should just stop overthinking it and get this shit done already.”

His smile was my only reply.

