A short respite before reality beckons me back

Taking a weeks vacation during the middle of a Uni course although good for my soul was probably not so good for my brain as it’s taken me a couple of days just to get into the swing of focusing on energy & electricity assignment questions again. How the fuck do I calculate magnetic force on a conductor again?

I never quite realised how much I get into the zone when I am studying compared to when I am not but it soon became obvious how much of a nerd I am when we were visiting Mr X’s parents and whilst he carried out some electrical work in their home I spent all day studying at their dining room table. It felt sooo good too, opening up my textbook and getting my brain to think and grapple with foreign concepts. I was really starting to think I’d forgotten everything I had previous learnt but the more I read, the more the information would come rushing back.

However it was really good to step away from Uni for a time, even if it was for a week, because whilst I was removed from the computer I visited my first DFO (discount factory outlet) and went a little nuts in the Converse store by purchasing two pairs of new shoes and five new t-shirts (what can I say I just love me some casual style clothing). And then we moved on to the Cotton On outlet and spent some more money there and then I dropped into Jeans West and picked up a sweet pair of pants.

One of the things I was actually hoping to pick up was some organic makeup from Zuii Organics (I purchased some samples of the liquid foundation, powderlipstick as well as a set of brushes a little while ago and I really like it), however I just didn’t have the patience to seek out a stockist in the Brisbane area knowing I can order it online when I was at home.

stunt-cars

Overall shopping for me was probably the highlight of the entire trip although we did drop into Movieworld and Dreamworld for a day each so Mr X could get his fun fix and we drove a zillion kilometres taking in the countryside along the way. The place we actually stayed at was quite a distance from the city, much further than I first imagined it was but that’s my own fault for not checking the distance through google maps.

Mountain Sunrise
Mountain Sunrise
Damper from the fire
Damper from the fire

However we had a great time staying there because we had a fire place to keep us warm at night and a fire pit out the back to roast our marshmallows on and a really nice view of the surrounding area since we were situated on top of a hill. But it’s nice to be home again and in my own bed and even knowing I’m off to work tomorrow.

