Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum

I’m not sure whether to blame the cooler weather for my blatant disregard to do anything remotely useful such as study, housework or renovations but I feel like everything is just too much of an effort to complete. Where the fuck did my motivation go?

I’ve been chomping at the bit for a week off from work and it’s not because I need to get away from the place but it’s more that I want to do something different and am limited by what is available in the local area. As luck would have it I did stumble upon a once in a year opportunity last month – a day trip aboard a beautiful sailing ship – and after running it past Mr X I quickly booked us passage upon its decks.

View of the deck
View of the deck

At the time the whole idea for this trip was to do something adventurous like help the crew pull the sails up and down and have a go at steering the ship but once aboard I took the tourist approach and settled in for taking pictures and appreciating the view whilst Mr X learnt the ropes.

Sailing on the high seas
Sailing on the high seas

As a person who has never been on a sailing ship I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect when we got underway. I’ve seen sailing ships on the TV and watched how the hull will tilt on an angle when the wind is in the sails but seeing it and experiencing it were two different matters entirely.

Calm seas
Calm seas

I don’t think the sailing did much to improve my lazy attitude but it did help me stop thinking of all the things I felt unmotivated to do. So the hell what if I’m being a lazy snot for not studying the past week and I’m behind in my housework? Occasionally a girl needs to cut herself a little slack and to throw caution to the wind.

Sunsets on the horizon
Sunsets on the horizon
