At first light

On Saturday morning I rose before the sun for the purpose of taking some pictures at the local dam. I had witnessed some pretty neat sunrises on my way to work all week but unfortunately I didn’t have time to stop to shoot them. Weekends fortunately are a different story and this was why I was willing to forgo my usual sleep in for some time with the camera.

I love how quiet the early mornings are. I forget to appreciate this when I’m up before the sun for work stuff but it’s definitely hard to ignore when you are on your own time and then you stumble into such beautiful surroundings.

dewongrass

In the beginning I believed my morning was a total wash when I couldn’t get the kind of shots I wanted. The night before there had been a festival and someone had the grand idea of hanging lanterns between the trees with the water in the background and at night it looked positively beautiful that I wanted to capture it the following morning. However I couldn’t manage to get the angle correct and all the shots I took of the lanterns turned out kind of dull so I turned to nature instead.

Ducks on the water
Ducks on the water
Mist on the water
Mist on the water

I meandered around the gardens for a good hour – squatting, bending and leaning – looking for different things to photograph and at different angles. It was hard work to me because I’m still learning how to operate my camera but instead of feeling exhausted by the end of the shoot I actually felt invigorated and inspired.

Flowers at dam
Flowers at dam
