Uni assignments

Gosh, Uni is so stressful to me sometimes. I think I’m going to give myself an ulcer from worrying so damn much. I want to do well but not for the sake of my health. However, I can’t stop striving to do my best. I’m not sure why I’m so driven.

My last assignment after I had submitted it, had left me in a quivering heap, so when I saw the email an hour later telling us the submission date was extended to the Monday (due to uploading issues) I almost ask my lecturer if he could release it so I could keep working on it. The only thing that stopped me was the idea of spending my first free weekend in a month doing just that. Yuck.

It was probably well and good that I left it alone because I passed it (and when I say passed what I mean is I aced it). I wasn’t expecting a full 100% but I did think I answered the questions as best as I could. It was a relief that I understood the material and explained myself well.

This latest assignment although not as soul-destroying as the previous one, sure did give my brain a work out. One of the questions involved interpreting a phase diagram between two elements. I think I understood and answered the questions correctly though I did become confused about when (at what temperature) the elements solidified into the alpha + beta phase. The question referred to 1 degree below the eutectic point so I figured it wouldn’t change much so I calculated the percentage answer based on that point.

I’m not sure if that is correct but it made sense to me. I was beyond exhausted by the time I submitted. I was even too tired to proof read properly.

I’m not sure how I did overall and I don’t hesitate to guess. I seem to suck at guessing how well I’ve done on an assignment which is kind of stupid if I know I’ve answered something correctly.

I guess my sense of unknowing comes from not being 100% sure I’ve read the phase diagram right or I’ve not explained how I arrived at my answers well enough for the lecturer to understand. The phase part worries me mostly because if I am wrong, it’s a huge chunk of my mark for that assessment.

Two more assignments to go and I’m so looking forward to my vacation after all of this hard work.

One thought on “Uni assignments

Leave a Reply

