Assignments

There is just so much to learn, isn’t there?

I of course never realised any of this until I started my studies. There I was opening one door of understanding only to find several different sections branching off that needed exploring as well.

Unfortunately I’m easily distracted so sometimes I quite literally have to tell myself aloud to focus on what information I need, not just what I find interesting so I can finish my assignments and speaking of assignments, is it odd to enjoy doing them?

Because I’m liking the process – the research, understanding my subject and finally writing it all down into words that I make sense to me.

Does the novelty eventually wear off?

Something else, I’m not a note taking type of person and am better off just jumping straight into what I need to say. When I take notes I simply waste too much time doing so and then I’m left with less time to compile my notes into something understandable. Maybe I need to work on my note taking technique, or not.

I must admit that the one thing I am still struggling with is finding a balance between work, study and having a life outside of both. I’m good at my job but I’m slow as a student so that in turn is eating into my personal downtime. It’s been awhile since I’ve picked up a new book which wasn’t required university reading material.

I’m sure it will work itself out as I progress but in the meantime it is a little frustrating.

Time to work on the assignment again. Wish me well.

Side Note: I can’t post comments to any blogs that use blogger. The Captcha program won’t let me and I’m not sure if this is due to my computer or something else just yet and I simply haven’t had a chance to figure it out yet so I do apologise for lack of comments to anyone on blogger.

4 thoughts on “Assignments

  1. The novelty eventually wears off, especially when doing general requirement classes. Once you get into your main curriculum, interest tends to stay.

    However, the further you get into your studies, the more you give up having a social life. Its just what happens. You can do two things about it, take less classes at a time thus making school last twice as long, or shrink your social time and finish school at a good pace.

    I still make times for things, dates, events, working out and yoga and I work 40+ hours a week at times, it can be done, its just a matter of scheduling study time and putting everything you have into the time alloted.

    1. I can only hope that eventually I will be just as organised. It seemed so silly to me hearing people scheduling their time, including personal commitments, between studying and work but now that I am living somewhat of that life it’s not as silly as it sounds.

  2. Wishing you lots of luck. It will eat into your social time and your life but it’s going to be worth it in the end. Keep going!

Leave a Reply

