Truce

To all those who didn’t receive a valentine’s this Tuesday, 14th of February 2012 let me just start off by saying that I’m not here to gloat about receiving a valentine’s this year but to admit that I feel guilty about receiving one.

Why should I feel so guilty about receiving an expression of love from someone who I care about? Why am I contemplating hiding my gift from my work colleagues instead of proudly showing it off?

Probably because whilst I see my gift as something beautiful some of the single people around me see it as a kick in the teeth to their current relationship status.

Now I’m sure I’m not alone out there when I say that I feel enormously guilty at receiving a gift on valentine’s day especially when it means it’s like pouring salt on an open wound for a single person so whilst all you singles out there are glaring at us and having a dig at how dumb valentine’s day is then please do know that we do feel bad about your circumstances which prevented you from receiving your own gift but please don’t hate us for being happy that we received ours.

It’s doubly awkward being the person who receives a gift on this day and you would be surprised how many people out there downplay their happiness today just so those who didn’t receive something don’t become uncomfortable.

At one point or another we have all been single on Valentine’s day so instead of making this day uncomfortable for either of us couldn’t we just be more considerate of one another in the future and call a truce?

I know I would appreciate it.

8 thoughts on “Truce

  1. Im single.. and I get excited when my friends get gifts on valentines day or get asked out. Don’t ever feel guilty if you receive a gift from someone you care about, no matter what day it is. Some people shouldn’t be so bitter, its just one day! And if they really don’t like valentines day then they shouldn’t care if someone gets a gift or not.
    So enjoy it to the fullest and be happy! :)

    1. You know, I do remember a time when everyone was excited about Valentine’s day. Excited about the possibility, excited about the unknown and excited for the silliness of it all. I miss those days.

      Thanks for your comment. It’s truly nice to hear someone single say something positive about Valentine’s day for a change and to be genuinely happy for their friends when they receive a gift :)

  2. I can’t say I am a fan of valentines day, but I say the same thing even on the years that I am taken. But its funny that the first time I have been single on Valentines day for a long time, I think that its maybe not so bad after all. I was surprised that today I didn’t feel bad about being single, but grateful for all the love I have had in the past and excited for future loves I am sure one day I will have. I hope you enjoyed your Valentine’s Day. Its really nice that you care so much, but you shouldn’t, it’s the tall poppy syndrome and it’s their attitudes, not their single status which makes Valentine’s Day a problem day.

    1. Well to tell you the truth I’m not a huge fan of the day myself but instead of avoiding it or hating it I’ve learnt to just go with it. Hope your own was just as good as mine, if not better :)

  3. I agree with the comments above. It is lovely that you care so much about how people who are single today, might be feeling. This shouldn’t detract from your own enjoyment of the day. Those flowers are beautiful. Happy Valentines :)

    1. I can’t help but care about how others feel when surrounded by so much love on Valentines day. We have all been there at some point and I think it’s nice to acknowledge the other side.

      Happy belated Valentines to you to Treacle :) Hope your day was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

