Kryptonite

As far as shopping goes I’m definitely the kind of girl who loves to do it.

I like to go in, I like to browse and I like to buy stuff and one of my favourite purchases are books.

On average I read at least one book a week.

Unfortunately for me, fortunately for my bank account, I moved somewhat out of the city a little while ago and although I travel back in for work related reasons I obviously don’t have the time to do the kind of window shopping that I’m used to do. This also meant that I hadn’t read any new books for quite some time and was feeling rather annoyed by it.

Fast forward to a couple of weeks after Christmas when I decided to purchase an Amazon Kindle.

My reasons were to save money by purchasing ebooks so I didn’t get slugged with the hefty price tag of an actual book. Of course there was the proviso that if I did find a book that I really, really liked and then I would purchase a real copy of it and add it to my collection but other than that, I should be spending less money on books. Right?

Wrong!

So far, in the three weeks that I have owned this device I have downloaded no less than 5 books and by Sunday evening it will be 6.

So that means that I’m now reading 2 books a week instead of my normal 1 and you want to know who’s to blame? Amazon. How completely irresponsible of them to place a bookstore within my fingertips!

Are you also an ebook addict? If so tell me about it!

6 thoughts on “Kryptonite

  1. We both have Kindles, and they have pretty much “worked” – we stopped buying paper books. That being said, every time a birthday or christmas comes around, people always buy both of us books still…

    1. Im still buying paper books even though I have the kindle. Mainly because I’ve started collections and I want to complete them but also because I love the feel of a real book between my hands. Still, I think ebooks are a good move if for nothing but saving trees.

Leave a Reply

