First day of 2012

Whilst most people were nursing their hangovers from last nights celebrations this morning I was enjoying a hot breakfast which consisted mainly of bacon, eggs, cooked tomato, toast lathered in soft butter and washed down with a hot cup of tea.

I had decided to avoid the drunken celebrations last night in exchange for a watching movies, reading The Hunger Games on a Kindle whilst listening to the new year count down on TV and since I was in good company on new years eve, I felt no need to go out on the town.

It was also nice just being home for a change after spending four days straight in other city and then a further three days working full-time during the day. Saturday, my first day off work since being home had already been reserved for preparing the house for the new year which meant cleaning, vacuuming, washing and mowing and all so I could simply enjoy the first day of a new year without having to look at jobs that needed attention whilst doing it.

Eagerly, I filled my first day of 2012 with egg collecting, chicken watching, instagram, photo editing, more Kindle book reading and a little mowing of the lawn in the afternoon. Not exactly anything special but it was precisely how I wanted to spend the first day of a new year. It’s probably the closest I’ll get to making any resolutions for the year in fact.

How did you celebrate your new years eve? How did you spend the first day of 2012?

party hat

2 thoughts on “First day of 2012

    1. I finished The Hunger Games the other day and liked it so much so I promptly moved onto downloading the next book in the series, Catching Fire. So far, so good.

      I was expecting a little more to the action sequenes in The Hunger Games – some scenes were rather short which didnt leave me hanging for long and almost guessing what would happen next – however I still enjoyed the book nonetheless and will most likely read it again at some point.

Leave a Reply

