By making mistakes we learn

You know how it is always said that the mistakes that you make in your past will someday catch up with you? Well, I got to experience that first hand this week and it wasn’t exactly a pleasant trip down memory lane either.

Before this little journey was thrust upon me I must admit that these past few months have been a little exciting for me. I’ve started to catch up on my workload in my job, am managing to master this new maintenance system and I’ve finally decided to sign up for university in the new year. This last one I was particularly looking forward to due to need for learning new things to keep the brain juices flowing but if I was to be truly honest with you, I wasn’t always the most enthusiastic student.

As a teenager I was quite aloof, easily distracted and very uninterested in learning anything. I watched as people around me planned for their future whether it was with a full-time job, applying for university or heading abroad and as I looked on I became quite distant about my own prospects. I had absolutely no idea what I wanted to do with my life, where I wanted to be in five years or what kind of job I was aiming for and the more I was asked about my plans, the more annoyed I started to feel.

To put it plainly, I just didn’t care about my future right then and even though I had no idea what I was going to do once I left school what I did know is that I didn’t want to follow in other people’s footsteps. The next day I walked into school and skipped all of my final exams. Oh the idiocy of an irrational teenage mind.

The end result was somewhat of a disaster as you might imagine but surprisingly I wasn’t really devastated with myself for doing it. I still passed all the important subjects because I was doing quite well up until this point but a pass next to a fail still looks like crap on paper.

Of course now that I am looking into going to university these results could potentially prevent me from entering into a degree that I have chosen – I mean a pass is a pass, nothing more, nothing less – and because I don’t want the board to think I’m truly a flake I’ve voluntary decided to sit the STAT (Special Tertiary Admissions Test) which should prove interesting if any of the test questions are to go by.

What mistake have you made in your past that have come around to haunt you later on down the track?

6 thoughts on “By making mistakes we learn

  1. It’s a shame that we’re still measured by success in standardised non-personalised subjects that let’s face it, most of us held only a passing interest in. Those that hold an aptitude for the standards methods of learning find it much easier to plan whereas those that don’t, quite often find themselves in a similar situation to you.

    Best of luck with your exam. I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

  2. I had very easy classes my last year of high school and graduated high, however, I never planned to go to college, I didn’t think of it as an option unfortunately. I never took the SAT or ACT tests we have here. So, not doing that is something that is haunting me now, and forever it seems. However, I had no clue what I wanted to do back in high school, took a while to figure out, sometimes you need that time.

    Good luck on your exam.

    1. My thoughts exactly. How do some those people figure out so early in life what they want to do as a mature adult? I’m thinking half of them are more driven by their families rather than their own hopes and aspirations.

      Thanks for the well wishes too. It’s very much appreciated. I should have those results in 4-6 weeks, giving me plenty of time to fret about them.

Leave a Reply

