Taskbar

“Where the heck is your task bar!?”

“Excuse me?”

“Your windows task bar. Where is it!?”

“Oh that, it’s at the top of the screen.”

“Oh so it is. That’s odd.”

I was on the phone to my company’s Helpdesk for a computer related issue when the person I was talking to, a perfect stranger, started telling me that my taskbar location choice was odd.

“How bloomin rude.” I thought to myself, hanging up the phone after my issue had been addressed but when the same remark was made a few days later, by a completely different IT person, I started to wonder if I wasn’t a little unusual in my choice after all.

“What the hell!” says the IT guy, his voice a little raised.

“What!? What!?” I squeeled. Sitting straight up in my chair and wondering if I would be greeted with the blue screen of death.

“Where is your task bar?!?”

“Oh that. At the top of the screen.”

“What’s it doing there?”

“I put it there funnily enough.”

“That’s just weird.”

“But why is it weird?”

This is the 21st century after all and we are all trying to express our uniqueness in many different ways from changing our desktop wallpapers to the colour schemes of our windows, surely I couldn’t be the only person who had thought to move their windows task bar to suit my needs. Especially when it’s one of the simplest things to do.

“Do you realise that your task bar is at the top of the screen?”

“Yeah. I put it there just to annoy people.”

Leave a Reply

